It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! Top 5 Christmas Films.

It’s December! Not only does that mean that we all get to wake up to either nutritious breakfast of a chocolate square, spoil ourselves with advent calendars and beautify our homes with sparkly lights but it also means that I can actively share my excitement for Christmas without being judged for it. I LOVE Christmas, no seriously, I love it. A LOT. I’m the annoying person who wakes up at 4am and rings you to make sure you’re awake. (Quick note to my friends, no I’m not going to stop it. I’ll do it again this year too).

I thought since it’s the most wonderful time of the year (see what I did there?) I’d share my top five favourite festive movies for you to watch whilst wrapping presents for loved ones, snuggling on the sofa or just to bring some extra cheer to your life. Enjoy!

1. The Holiday

maxresdefault-1

Okay, I know it technically doesn’t feature the big man himself but it’s so heartwarming. Controversially, I prefer this a lot to Love Actually. I love Kate Winslet in this. It’s just a lovely film to wrap the presents too. It’s also perfect for movie night with your best friend. Go on, grab the popcorn. I know you want too.
2. Twas the night
tt0282223

I don’t know why, but most of the people I know haven’t seen this film. It’s completely underrated. It stars Brian Cranston (pre Breaking Bad) as the uncle that your parents keep you away from but you strangely love to hang out with. He isn’t really feeling the Christmas Spirit and finds a device which ruins it for everyone. The kids don’t let him though, plus the big guy makes an appearance too. Amazing. It better than it sounds, but it’s brilliant. Just brilliant.

3. The Grinch

images

Don’t lie, we all have a friend who is just like the Grinch. They somehow hate Christmas, but you can’t celebrate Christmas without visiting this loveable grump in Whoville. One of Dr Seuss’s finest stories.

4. Home Alone

home-alone-25-hi-res

Because, Merry Christmas You Filthy Animal. I don’t know many people who haven’t watched this and every year I find myself reaching for it. It’s a classic. A hilarious family classic. Just watch it.

5. The Santa Clause

maxresdefault

This is my absolute favourite. A business guy who seemingly has no time for other people, somehow accidentally BECOMES Santa. It’s amazing, I made my husband watch this last year and It’s now his favourite Christmas film. The second one is pretty good too. Although, I like to pretend the third one never happened. At all. Tim Allen is hilarious in this and it always makes me feel like Christmas has officially started. Needless to say I watch this on Christmas eve every year with some hot chocolate. Perfection.

These are just a few of my festive favourites. What are yours? Actually, I think I’m going to watch some Christmas films now.

Leave a Reply

