Poldark Series 3 Review – Crashed Like Lightning.

Once again, I’m late to the party. I’m starting to make this a habit. I know this about myself but nevertheless I joined the party anyway. So if you had asked me maybe a year ago if I liked Poldark the answer would have been a firm no.

I tried to get into the first series, and for some reason I didn’t like it and I never looked back. Then when series two started, It unfortunately (shame on you BBC) clashed with Victoria and there was no way I was missing that one. So when series three started and they had changed the scheduling to avoid clashing with the ITV heavy weight (Smart move) and I found myself in a summer with nearly no historical drama to dig my teeth into, I accidentally fell in love with it.  No seriously. I did. Series one is now on Netflix and one evening I found myself bored so I decided to binge watch the entire thing. Long story short, it’s a week later and i’m completely caught up with season one + two and i’m watching series three in real time.

p0550qqh

Why have I fallen in love with it? Weirdly, I think it’s because it’s about normal people. I know what you’re thinking, NORMAL? How are the aristocracy and working class normal? Well for one, there isn’t any royals…well not really. Yes it’s about class divide (is there really any difference to any other show…) but it’s technically about normal people back in the 1700’s? It’s got your different classes and it sort of shows how people tried to go about their lives for their family.

Honestly, i’m trying to convey into words why I love it when i’ve spent so long telling people I didn’t like it and I don’t really have the words. I don’t know why I love it. I just do.

Anyway, what have you guys been up to? I’ve got some plans happening for you lucky people. Stay Tuned!

Leave a Reply

