Review: After Glow by Urban Decay – Crashed Like Lightning

Urban Decay have been one of my favourite mid market brands for a while now. I have a few pieces from various collections in my make up stash. I think one of the reasons I love them so much is because they do such a spectrum of shades that they fit with all skin types. I mean, one of my pet peeves is when the shade Nude, isn’t a nude shade for me. On my lips it turns up a frosted pink. Anyway, when I heard that they brought out the After Glow highlight palette I couldn’t not go and take a quick peak! It was so beautiful that I had to have it.

First lets talk about the packaging. It’s pretty, it’s pink and it’s portable! Thank goodness it’s portable. What is with brands making beautiful packaging but you can’t take it anywhere? When I go and visit my family, I’m usually wanting to pack light, so that limits me to make up with packaging that won\t get damaged or isn’t too heavy. I also appreciate a good even square/box which makes it so much easier to stash away neatly because we all know that a make up station can get messy pretty quickly. Am I right?
When you open the box you’ll see four different shades. Bliss, Peroxide, NSFW and Side Piece. I usually don’t pay attention to the names but even I can appreciate their flirty titles. It amused me.

IMG_0627.JPGIMG_0632

I suppose what you really want to know is how are the shades? I can tell you, you won’t be disappointed. If you’re looking for a highlight combo which will stay on pretty much throughout the day and will catch the light when you’re friends/other-half/world/victims are least expecting it, then this one is pretty good for it’s value. It’s very pigmented but what I loved most about this is I could wear every colour.

Peroxide
I’m mixed raced, so usually when i buy a palette it’s not often that i can wear all the colours. So if I wanted to go super highlighted I could wear peroxide without it being too shiny or obvious that i’ve got a pink or purple highlighter one. Most of the time, the colour of it stands out on my skin a little too much and I just look like I can’t blend. This colour would work on most skin completions and skin tones. It’s actually beautiful.

Bliss
This is usually my god to shade. This and Side Piece are usually the type of shades I go to for that everyday natural highlight. It’s beautiful, it’s subtle and if you really wanted to go crazy you could mix the two.

Side Piece
The shade on it’s own is amazing. I usually use it in the corner of my eyes,on the end of my nose or on my cupids bow. It helps define the natural areas and it’s just so subtle but exactly what you need to add the extra glow in your life.

NSFW
YESSSSS! This is a shade i’ve been wanting for a while. Something that would work well with my skin. it’s perfect for that bronzed highlight. The after holiday glow but not bronzed to death type shade, it’s exactly what I need. Especially after all this sun that the UK seemed to be getting at the moment!

What I truly loved about this palette is although I could wear all of the colours and not have a problem. Someone with a lighter skin tone could do the exact same. it’s adaptable, it’s portable and at £27 it’s affordable. it’s not the cheapest out there but it’s also not going to break the bank if you want to splurge on yourself.

IMG_0634

One thought on “Review: After Glow by Urban Decay – Crashed Like Lightning

Leave a Reply

