Review: This Modern Love – Will Darbyshire

It’s rare that I find a book that I stays with me as much as this one did. At least, non-fiction ones anyway.  I read this book in one day. One full day, I still had to go to work, I still had all of that going on but I could not put it down. Want to know why? It was real. The words spoke the truth of people all around the world and it just makes you feel…connected.
IMG_0698
The book was put together by YouTuber Will Darbyshire. He asked people all around the world to submit answers to the same six questions about love/relationships. The book is split into sections of the beginning of a relationship, the middle and the end. The best part about this whole book though is the fact that these words are from people all over the world, feeling the same emotions. They’ve never met, they’re ordinary folk and they don’t have anything to lose. They’re just being plain honest, it’s not over romanticized, it’s just what they’re feeling…

Isn’t that beautiful?
FullSizeRender
I began reading it because I had no data left on my phone (sorry Will) so I wanted something to do on the bus. I then couldn’t stop. I read it any chance I could at work and then on the way home. Soon as I’d finished dinner with my husband, I was tucked up on the sofa with the book in my head. It was just beautiful and tragic. It was both and that is the best thing about it. It’ll make you realise how connected we all are…even though technology can make us feel so far apart. We all feel the same things.

It’s a beautiful idea and a beautiful book. I know I’ll be reaching for this every so often.

2 thoughts on “Review: This Modern Love – Will Darbyshire

  1. This sounds like an absolutely wonderful read! I used to be a massive fan of the New York Times’ ‘Modern Love’ column, but I think I’d like comparing answers to the same questions from people all over the world even more!

    Isn’t reading on the bus one of the best ways to pass the time?

    xx
    Emily
    emilyhallock.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. I didn’t realise how much I’d love it until I read it. It was sort of an experience, it’s just so beautiful to hear everyone explain in their own words their experience. After the fact, they’re sort of experiencing the same feelings but expressing them in different ways? You should give it a read! 🙂

      I do love reading on the bus, but i love sitting on the sofa on an empty weekend and curling better! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

